Teacher Assistant Requirements in Iowa

   

In Iowa, it is a requirement for all teacher assistants to be certified. All certificates are issued when the application is filed on a form provided by the board of educational examiners. In order to obtain the initial paraeducator certificate, all applicants must complete a preparation program that is approved by the state board.  After this step, then the applicant must receive a recommendation from the designated certifying official at the location where the program was completed. A certificate is valid only from and after the date of issuance for 5 years.

Applicants must possess:

  • A minimum of a high school diploma or a graduate educational development diploma; and
  • Shall have successfully completed at least 90 clock hours of training in the areas of behavior management, exceptional child and at-risk child behavior, collaboration skills, interpersonal relations skills, child and youth development, technology, and ethical responsibilities and behavior.


Applicants shall be disqualified for any of the following reasons:

  1. The applicant is less than 18 years of age
  2. The applicant has been convicted of child abuse or sexual abuse of a child
  3. The applicant has been convicted of a felony
  4. The applicant’s application is fraudulent
  5. The applicant’s certification from another state is suspended or revoked
  6. The applicant fails to meet board standards for application for an initial or renewed certificate


Please refer to the Para-educator Program Offerings List for more information on finding a state approved paraeducator certificate program

Additional Preparations
CPR/First Aid certified
Pass state and federal background checks